The Law Department is a distinct and independent unit within the Government Secretariat. This Department is housed in the Main Block of the Secretariat building, which is at the southern side of the Durbar Hall. The business of the Law Department is transacted by the Law Secretary assisted by other officials of the Department.

This Department consists of 34 sections The business of the Law Department consists of:-

Administration of the Law Department, Administration of Advocate General’s Office, Administration of Kerala State Human Rights Commission, Administration of Personal Laws, Administration of Court Fees and Suit Valuation Act, Administration of Kerala Advocates’ Clerks Welfare Fund Act 

  •      Administration of Kerala Legal Benefit Fund.
  •      Legislative Drafting and Unification of Laws.
  •      Legal Advice to other Departments in the Secretariat
  •      Publication of State and Central Legislation.
  •      Conveyancing
  •      Appointment of Notaries and Government Law Officers.
  •      Translation of Legislation. 

The Law Department has its own Library which is a reference Library for all Officers of this Department and is under the exclusive control of the Law Secretary. The Law Department is generally guided by the procedure laid down in theSecretariat Office Manual and the Law Department Manual.Law Department Manual (Malayalam). Since the Law Department is a separate unit within the Secretariat, matters relating to the establishment, staff, budget, contingencies, furniture, stationery and all other administrative matters of the Department are attended to in the Department itself.

Visitors Counter


Site Last Modified

  • ~Saturday 23 October 2021.